I would like to start of with a disclaimer;  I am a terrible writer and I dislike writing.   My only hope for the class is just to pass.
I know I have quite a bit to learn about writing, but unfortunately it was taught to me many times before and did not stick.  The rules for math and science seem to be plastered all over my brain, but for some reason all the rules and what not for English and writing just cannot find their adhesive.

Last semester I had three online classes.  My experience in two of them was not as bad as I was expecting.  The third how ever was a nightmare.  The first two were my Microbiology and my Composition 1 class.  I got through those with a "B" and "C" respectively.  I was very glad to get the "C" in comp, as I had failed it twice before (yes, I am that bad.)  I really should have gotten and "A" in micro, but I was putting most of my focus on my comp class just praying that I could pass it.  The third on was Fundamentals of Business Administration.  I had gone into  the Lasso Office looking for one more class to get me to full time status.  This was all they were able to find me.  The informed me it was pretty much a "blow off" class and would be and easy grade, WRONG.  It was an eight week course from hell.  In that eight weeks we four assignments per week, a book we had to read and do a report on (I am a slow reader as well) and a presentation of that report.  I happened to finish the book with just three days left to do the report.  Nevertheless, I got a very bad grade on it.  The other thing was that he expected us to take a quiz and final and did not get the lecture videos up until two days before the final.  If this had been my only class that semester I think I could have done better, but having all that piled on top of Micro, Comp 1, Stat and working full time was a bit much for me to handle. 


Cheyanne Terry
5/8/2013 10:14:56 am

I definitely understand what you mean about different experiences with different online classes. Last summer I took two online classes, Comp I and College Algebra. Needless to say, these classes had very little in common. Although each of them required time and attention, the math was really challenging. I had to spend hours working on daily problems, taking quizzes and preparing for unit tests. Another aspect that I really did not like was the fact that I had to make two trips to the college (not NOC) to take the mid-term and the final. I also had to do this for the Comp I class as well but the daily assignments were not as detailed and I felt like I improved as a writer during the semester.

Reply
Kevin Nelsen
5/10/2013 03:28:52 am

I'm the same way when it comes to writing. I am terrible at it. I have trouble coming up with what to write about and how to word it. This is also my first online class, so I hope it goes better than a walk-in class.

Reply
Sonya Smith
5/10/2013 07:13:28 am

Hoping this class is a lot better experience for you! I love to read and write, but it is ONLY if I am interested in the subject. If not, I can not seem to focus or study.

Reply
5/10/2013 02:03:36 pm

First off I want to say that reading your Blog made me smile. I am also pursuing a career as an RN, but unlike you, Math and Science are my worst enemies. I know what your thinking....why would I then even consider a medical major? I am drawn to it. I love helping people and I am good at it. That being said, I love everything about English. Always have. I believe that if we have taken the first step to even be enrolled in college, online or in class, that we are determined enough that we can all overcome our individual struggles.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    May 2013

    Categories

    All