I am not sure that I could really pinpoint all the influences that have shaped me.  I was raised in a non-church going christian family.  To my parents, our faith in God did not depend on us going to church.  It was determined instead, by what we felt in our hearts and in the way we treated others.  We were raised to always follow the golden rule.  Though my family may be as redneck as we come.  We are also as loving and accepting as a family can be.  We are that family, that if one of our friends has no way of getting to their family for a holiday we invite them to our holiday celebration and make them feel like a part of the family.  
As for my career, I have no idea. All I know is that I have always been a very and caring and compassionate person and felt medicine would be a great field to match my personality.  My ultimate goal is to become a physician, but I am going to have to work my way to that.  I decided to become a nurse and get experience in the medical field.  
Addie Corley
5/15/2013 12:50:17 pm

No worries about pinpointing what makes you,you, because I think you did just that! the fact that your family has a full understanding and love for one another and do not need to be taught that is awesome in my eyes. I like that your family will invite friends who cannot have holidays of their own because my family is the exact same! We are always more than welcome to have friends and strangers gathered around to celebrate anything!

Reply
Mandy Schroeder
5/16/2013 10:33:01 am

I have to agree that if I had to list everyone and everything that has ever had a positive influence on my life the list would go on and on, I’m not quite sure it would ever end. Kudos to your parents for raising you that way. I too grew up in a very Christian based house and we didn’t always make it to church every Sunday. While some people may frown upon that I believe that a person should be Christ like every day just not in church on Sunday. I also feel that I too am a very caring and compassionate person, however as I grew up around the medical field (my mom is a physical therapist) I realize that my career path doesn’t lie in the field of medicine but instead lies in the field of youth development. While I wouldn’t say my family is extremely redneck we are very country and down to earth. My family is also the type of people to help out everyone they can in any way they are able to.

Reply
5/17/2013 10:36:37 am

I think its great your famiy are all non-church going Christians. Many people tend to believe that the only way to be a "good Christian" is by going to church. The world needs more people who are accepting and understanding, who are not afraid to welcome strangers into their home for thw holidays, especially when that person has no one else to share that special time with. Good luck with your goals as an RN/BSN, we have a mutual goal.

Reply
Kevin Nelsen
5/17/2013 12:02:17 pm

Being able to figure out what exactly makes you who you are is almost impossible. There are far too many things that happen in a lifetime to keep track of it all. It seems that I still wonder what make me who I am even though I found what led me to my career choice.

Reply
5/17/2013 12:46:40 pm

I can relate to the part about always have an open door to anyone that might not have anywhere else to go for a holiday. My wife and I have always done that. We also have had an open door policy when it comes to our children's friends if they ever needed a place to stay. So far, over they last few years, while our children have gone through high school, we have had several kids come stay with us from just a few days up to a couple of years. We love them and treat them as if they were a part of our family too. Since I had such a tough childhood, my wife and I have done all that we could to make sure our own children and anyone else feels loved and cared for. I think you did a great job telling us what makes you, you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    May 2013

    Categories

    All